Uninsured Motorist Coverage Is One of the Best Ways to Protect You and Your Family in an Auto Accident

are you coveredWhile carrying car insurance in Massachusetts and Rhode Island is mandatory, the coverage that motorists are required to have is not likely to be sufficient to protect you if you are injured in an accident. The minimum requirement is only $20,000 per person in Massachusetts and $25,000 per person in Rhode Island. With rising medical costs and typical emergency room bills exceeding thousands of dollars, that kind of coverage is hardly sufficient. To make matters worse, not everyone is diligent in paying their insurance bills, and injured motorists often find themselves in situations where the at-fault party does not have any insurance coverage at all.

How can you protect yourself? Purchase uninsured and under-insured coverage. These coverages protect you, the policy holder, in the event that another person causes you injury and either does not have sufficient coverage, or does not have any coverage at all. Adding these coverages to your auto insurance often does not add all that much expense to your annual automobile insurance bill, but adds tremendous protection for you and your family. We recommend at least $100,000 of coverage, but $250,000 to $500,000 is definitely worth the premium.

If you do find yourself in a situation where you have been injured and the other party does not have sufficient coverage, contact an experienced lawyer immediately. Kevin DeMello of KPDM Law, LLC has over a decade of experience handling these types of cases, and has built a track record of success. If you need help, please do not hesitate to contact us.