In Rhode Island, all motorists are required to carry Medical Payments coverage. Medical Payments coverage, or MedPay, will pay for your medical bills if you are injured. However, if you have health insurance, your health insurance will typically pay your medical bills, which means MedPay and health insurance in Rhode Island often overlap. However, MedPay can be used to pay things that your health insurance may not cover, such as copayments.
If MedPay does pay for part of your medical bills, the MedPay carrier has the right to be reimbursed out of any personal injury recovery you obtain from a third party who caused your injuries. That means if you get a personal injury settlement, you have to pay back MedPay for your medical bills. Typically, the same rule applies to your health insurer as well.
It is important to retain competent, experienced representation when dealing with automobile accident injuries to ensure that your medical bills are properly addressed. Furthermore, an experienced attorney will help you achieve the maximum recovery by negotiating with your MedPay insurer and your health insurer to reduce the amount you have to pay back.
If you’ve been injured an an automobile accident in Rhode Island, please contact KPDM Law, LLC today at 617-804-5736.
In Massachusetts, the question of who pays for your medical bills if you’re involved in an automobile accident is not as straightforward as it might seem. If you have health insurance, you may assume that your health insurer will take care of your bills. However, this is not completely correct.
In Massachusetts, all motorists are required to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage, which provides $8,000 of coverage for medical bills, copayments, and lost wages. If you have private health insurance, your health insurer will not pay any of your bills until PIP has paid the first $2,000 worth of medical bills. The rules are different if you are on Medicare or MassHealth, as these insurers require that PIP pay the full $8,000 in benefits before they pay any medical bills.
This interplay between PIP and health insurers can lead to all sorts of problems, as health care providers will often try to bill the wrong insurer. This scenario often leads to your health insurer or car insurer denying coverage, and collection notices being sent to you, the patient. Therefore, even if you are reluctant to file a claim for your injuries, it makes a lot of sense to hire a lawyer to sort through the insurance issues. You may even get a check for pain and suffering for your trouble.
If you’ve been injured an an automobile accident in Massachusetts, please contact KPDM Law, LLC toay at 617-804-5736.
Retaining an attorney following an automobile accident is something an injured party should do as quickly as possible. An experienced attorney will move quickly to investigate the facts and circumstances of the accident. Evidence, like skid marks and debris at the scene, can quickly deteriorate, so getting to the scene to observe and take photographs quickly can be critical. There are also important issues that need to be addressed soon after an accident that can have an important impact on the case.
Massachusetts law requires a person who was operating a motor vehicle involved in an accident in which any person was injured to file an operator’s report with the Department of Motor Vehicles within five days. See G.L. c. 90 s. 26. If you have been injured in a car accident, this operator’s report becomes a critical document that can and will be used against a claimant by insurance companies and defense lawyers. It is therefore extremely important to consult with an attorney experienced in handling automobile accident cases before completing and sending in this report.
Apart from the legal and insurance issues, retaining an attorney as quickly as possible can save the stress and headaches associated with the process of filing a claim.